Certified Financial Planner™

A CFP® certification is recognized as the highest standard in the field of personal financial planning throughout the United States. Just about anyone can use the term “financial planner” but only individuals who have fulfilled the rigorous certification and renewal requirements of the CFP® Board can refer to themselves as a Certified Financial PlannerTM.

A CFP® professional is required to act in the best interest of their client when providing financial recommendations. What’s more, a CFP® professional must acquire several years of experience related to delivering financial planning services to clients and pass a comprehensive six hour Certification Exam, comprising 72 separate financial planning topics, before using the CFP® professional designation.

bob and joy hc denison

The CFP® Board adopted the Code of Ethics as principles expressing the ethical and professional ideals certificants are expected to display in their professional activities.

Principle 1 - Integrity

Provide professional services with integrity.

Principle 2 - Objectivity

Provide professional services objectively

Principle 3 - Competence

Maintain the knowledge and skill necessary to provide professional services competently.

Principle 4 - Fairness

Be fair and reasonable in all professional relationships. Disclose conflicts of interest.

Principle 5 - Confidentiality

Protect the confidentiality of all client information.

Principle 6 - Professionalism

Act in a manner that demonstrates exemplary professional conduct.

Principle 7 - Diligence

 Provide professional services diligently.

Click Here to see why choosing a CFP® professional may be the right decision for you.

Visit the CFP® Board’s  Standards of Professional Conduct  or the CFP® Board’s Home Page for more information regarding CFP® professionals.